Featuring Holly Herndon and Mat Dryhurst, Yoko Ono, Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley, 0xDEAFBEEF, Tommy Martinez and American Artist

Written by

Cassey Ayala

Photographed by

No items found.

Styled by

No items found.
No items found.
Holly Herndon and Mat Dryhurst. Play from Memory (2024). Still Image of Play from Memory #24.
Herndon and Dryhurst’s work for SOUND MACHINES includes: Video (color, sound),1024 x 1536 pixels, Machine-generated.

A fusion of sound and technology are pursuing coexistence in a new online exhibition; one that is infused with whispers of exploration and the intersection of sound and digital and computer-generated craft. Residing within the realm of The Museum of Modern Art, Feral File is introducing SOUND MACHINES, a staggering spectacle brimming with countless variations of interactivity. The gallery of artistry brings with it contemporary innovations and exclusive phenomena, immersing every explorer into a universe of the futuristic ambience within the exhibition. Artists encompassed within the salient showcase are artists Holly Herndon and Mat Dryhurst, Yoko Ono, Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley, 0xDEAFBEEF, Tommy Martinez and American Artist

American Artist and Tommy Martinez. Integrity Protocol/Lower Limb Lecture (2024). Integrity Protocol/Lower Limb Lecture, Still Image #8

While fellow artists of the exhibition zone in on sound, Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley’s craft, CANCEL YOURSELF is centered upon repealing the conventional roles of player and played. Her design entails a multisensory and interactional game, granting its player the decisive freedom to select their preferred version of how to “cancel themselves.” Through its affair, each participant is given their exclusive discovery of path amongst instruments of social pressures and cultural tensions. 

Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley. CANCEL YOURSELF (2024). 
Shirley’s work for SOUND MACHINES includes: Custom Software (HTML), Interactive, Unique Poster (2480 x 3508 pixels).

The presentation of SOUND MACHINES promises to embrace a variety of sound mastery. Designed by Yoko Ono, SOUND PIECE V emerges as a virtual exchange of interactivity, effortlessly intertwining sound and communication. The artist alters traditional music scores into direction as effortlessly written instructions, allowing creative freedom for each guest to infuse into their own melodic installation. With every moment a segment is implemented, Yoko’s participants can delicately build on every transformation of sound within their project. 

0xDEAFBEEF. PAYPHONE (2024). PAYPHONE (2024), Still Image #1

Commemorating many more artists, SOUND MACHINES will be freely visible online as well as available through an online auction as a set beginning March 14th. 

No items found.
No items found.