Ryan Beatty | New Album Release 'Calico'

The artist's third studio album reveals nine lyrically vulnerable new tracks

Written by

Eloisa de Farias

Photographed by

No items found.

Styled by

No items found.
No items found.

Ryan Beatty’s long awaited new album “Calico” was released on April 28th. The LA based singer and songwriter shares his third album alongside a vulnerable visual accompaniment directed by esteemed Belgian artist Peter De Potter, streaming now on Ryan’s official YouTube channel. “Calico” is available now via Elektra US/Atlantic Records UK.

The artist shares unguarded slices of his life through nine intimate tracks. Subtle yet lyrically bold, “Calico” is a look into Beatty’s creative and meditative process. The album was initiated with the release of the single, “Ribbons.” From lyrics about quintessentially long Californian drives to the divine instrumental work courtesy of Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, the single was a glimpse into the graceful compilation that is “Calico.” The varied tracks come together to create a poetic album that perfectly epitomizes Beatty as an artist. 

Beatty recorded “Calico” at the historic Valentine Recording Studios and Rick Rubin’s Shangri-La. Some of the incredible creatives featured in his album include: guitarist Dylan Day (Jenny Lewis, Laura Veirs), drummer Matt Chamberlain (Lorde, Brandi Carlile), saxophonist Sam Gendel (Sylvan Esso, Perfume Genius), and string arranger Rob Moose (FKA twigs, Laura Marling.)

No items found.
No items found.
Ryan Beatty, Calico, Eloisa de Farias, Elektra US, Atlantic Records UK